Israel banned its citizens from traveling to India and six other countries, citing high rates of COVID infection there.

In a joint press release issued by Israel's Prime Minister's Office and the Health Ministry on Friday, it was said that Israelis will not be allowed to travel to Ukraine, Brazil, Ethiopia, South Africa, India, Mexico and Turkey.

These regulations will enter into force on May 3 and will remain in effect until May 16.

However, non-Israelis will be able to travel to these countries, provided they plan to reside there permanently, according to the press release.

The regulation will not apply to those who stay at airports in transit in one of these countries for a period of time of up to 12 hours while waiting for a connecting flight.

The Israeli government has also authorized its health and interior ministers to appoint representatives to head an appeals committee and the panel that reviews special cases.

Israel Bans Travel To India, Six Other Countries Amid Rise In Covid Cases

Meanwhile, the Health Ministry has proposed that returnees from the seven countries enter a mandatory two-week quarantine, even if they have been vaccinated or recovered from COVID-19, local media said.

Those who have received two negative COVID-19 test reports will need to be quarantined for 10 days, they said.

These additional restrictions are also expected to come into effect on May 3, but are subject to approval by the Knesset Arrangements Committee (Israeli parliament).

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post